PDA

View Full Version : Character balance?

GeeWhiz
06-06-2012, 01:31 AM
What does everyone think about the balance between the three different character types ( Trader vs Warlord vs Researcher)?

At the moment it appears like the trader has a huge advantage in resources and able to build huge fleets.

I know we need to wait and see how all the starting servers end - It should be interesting.

JetJaguar2000
06-06-2012, 01:58 AM
I've tried all 3, the trader has a huge advantage in terms of conventional fleets, but the other two have "come from behind" win conditions, so who knows.

I definitely feel that the trader's RO advantage is way too extreme. I'm literally barely monitoring the game in which I'm a trader, and I'm up to something like 30k RO last time I checked. As a researcher or warlord I've had to bust my ass to get even 5k RO, and that's only the result of fighting over Jovian planets that I wouldn't otherwise have.

Supamand
06-06-2012, 02:08 AM
You can't really judge by the starting servers, because there are a lot of starting bugs that got grandfathered. But that's off topic....
I tried playing trader and researcher so far. It looks like with the new fixes, scientist would have an upper hand on expansion. So at start scientists will be better than any other class hands down.

However, as you advance The need for RO groves and traders become effective. As a scientist I tried to use trading to obtain RO and it seams to be a good alternative.

As far as playing a Warlord, I haven't tried one yet, but I'd say it looks like the most challenging class to play. Because they have nothing going for them to gain the boost of RO and those super capital ships are expensive! Maybe a month into the game is when warlord will gain power over other classes (if they are not killed off first).

So to recap:
Scientists - fast at expansion in early game.
Trader - average at start, but picks up speed when demand of RO goes up