PDA

View Full Version : Researcher Win Condition questions

Syelnicar
06-11-2012, 03:57 AM
1.) Are solar taps used up like outpost/colony ships?
2.) Solar taps don't seem to have speed attributes. Do they need to be built in the system you intend to tap?
3.) The researcher-only skill mentions "+1 star per rank" as part of it's description. What does this mean exactly?
4.) The other part of the win condition is "find the ascension device." What is this? Is it something you build, or is it something you're going to have to look throughout the whole universe and hope to come across? Or is that purely lore?

catswift
06-11-2012, 09:12 PM
Could we get answers to these? As a fellow researcher, I am very interested.

JetJaguar2000
06-11-2012, 09:22 PM
You have to assume, for the sake of sanity, that they don't need to be built in the system you want to collapse. The thought of needing a colony with the resources to build one in 12 different systems is terrifying. The fact that the "ship" stats look like orbital stats is confusing, though.

I think they are almost certainly "used up" after a number of uses defined by your level of Graviton Physics. That would be the only way to justify the fact that it costs so little compared to the Planet Killer when the effects (in terms of win condition) are so similar. And if you accept that they have multiple uses, then they must be mobile, right?

Royce
06-11-2012, 09:31 PM
It says right in the graviton physics description that the tap must be built at the star. How that is possible, I don't know. Maybe it means it must be built in the system, but it specifically says at the star.

JetJaguar2000
06-11-2012, 09:35 PM
It says right in the graviton physics description that the tap must be built at the star. How that is possible, I don't know. Maybe it means it must be built in the system, but it specifically says at the star.